Henty MOTY Award recognises innovative technology

Judge Mark Bowyer with Henty Machine of the Year Award highly commended, Bruce and Heath Hutcheon, and winners Denis Dorval and Jonathon McKenzie, Bourgault.

Entries at the cutting edge of agricultural technology will line up before the judges in the prestigious Henty Machine of the Year Award.

Announced on the opening day, this “farmers’ choice’’ award is presented to the most outstanding new piece of agricultural machinery exhibited at the Henty Machinery Field Days.

It is judged by an independent panel of regional primary producers.

In many cases the machine has gone on to become a standard piece of equipment on farms.

Judging criteria includes the machine’s purpose and suitability, scope of application, construction, ease of maintenance and service, ease of operation and adjustment, availability of parts and overall value for money.

This year, entries range from an innovative hay rake and wireless remote system for tipping truck hydraulics, to a self-propelled sprayer and the revolutionary Morris Quantum air drill.

Last year, the award drew 18 entries with the 24m wide 3420 PHD Paralink Hoe Drill, entered by Bourgault, impressing the judges with its unique folding mechanism.

Highly commended was the Coolamon All Rounder multi-purpose chaser bin entered by Bruce and Heath Hutcheon, Coolamon Chaser Bins, Coolamon, NSW.

HMFD deputy chairman Nigel Scheetz said the award was open to all machines on site released into the Australian market in the previous 12 months.

“A win at Henty gives the entrant valuable exposure for their product,’’ Mr Scheetz said.

An additional accolade is the Greater Hume Council Award for the best new Australian designed and manufactured machine.

It is judged on the Monday and presented on the final day of the field days.

Last year it was won by the South Australian designed and manufactured multi-purpose tracking trailer from Kelly Engineering, Booleroo.

Bourgault territory manager Matt French said the Machine of the Year Award had generated massive national publicity for the company on the 24m Paralink drill.

“It has definitely good for business with people coming through the door to look at the machine and walking out with product of some description,’’ Mr French said.

Mr French said there had been plenty of interest in the company’s smaller 40 to 60 feet wide seeders but dry seasonal conditions had worked against the larger 80 and 100 foot models.

He expects interest to pick up once conditions west of the Newell Highway improve.

Machine of the Year entries include:

After market wireless remote control system for tipping truck hydraulics – The Capps Control

4kva Generator – MickeyBLU Australia

Quantum Air Drill – McIntosh Distributors

Everun ER28 – Everun Australia

Schinckel Next F Series – Schinckel Hay Rakes

RoGator C Series self-propelled sprayer – Croplands Equipment

SD150S TR Super Drill – Brookfield

Equalizer air seeder – Harberger Farm Supplies

FBP 3135 round baler – Kuhn Farm Machinery

8500 Series Boom Sprayer – JTA Spraying Equipment

Q Catch 8600 Series Cattle Crush – Arrowquip

Spray Scout – Rapid Spray

Battery powered agri motorcycle – Konigs Shepparton

Post straightener – Post Straightener Pty Ltd

Skid Lift – Colbrook Industries

Anderson RBM 2000 Pro – Burder Ag Attachments

CF Moto Y850 ATV – CF Moto Australia

DJI Agras MG-IS – Sphere Drones

Octagonal water trough – Conron Stockcrete

Berrima Multi-Ted 12-6 – Berrima Engineering

Kline Disc Chisel – CadMac

Back Pack Compressor – Horsley Wholesale

Crop Ex (irrigation moisture sensor) – Superior Silos

GP1200 6 in 1 Seeder – GreenPro

Kawasaki Pro MX – Kawasaki Motors